Promises of Protection For Troubled Times

One of my most treasured memories is laying on my Papa’s bed with my chin rested on the palms of my hands listening to him do his evening Bible reading. His deep gravelly voice still travels through my mind.   The windows open and a fan blowing were all the air conditioning we had in my grandparents house.  So, the sounds of the Bible mixed with a breeze blowing and crickets chirping.  It meant a lot to me.  
But those memories are a small part of why those evenings were so precious.  My Papa gave me something.  He gave me a love for God’s Word – expecially the 23rd and 91st Psalms.  Oh, the precious promises of provision and protection these Psalms offer us.
As I read them today, especially the wording in Psalm 91, it hit me very strongly.  This Psalm was written for us.  Today.  Every verse is a promise we need!  (Okay, most of us aren’t dodging arrows, but replace bullets and see how many people today need to lean heavily on this Psalm.)
I encourage you to read it today.  Actually, I implore you to read it daily.  Alone or better yet with your children hearing you read it.  Imprint their minds with your voice and the promises of God’s love and protection for them!  Stir up a love for the Word as you navigate His promises and show them His great love for humanity!  Teach them about Jesus and remind them that His name means Salvation!  The word salvation is bigger in the Bible than just getting to go to Heaven.  Psalms 23 and 91 illustrate His salvation and His love.  
Now.  Now, you’re children need to know God is with them and for them.  You probably need it to!  Don’t let these promises go unmanifested in your life because they lay dormant in the Bible.  Awaken the promises in your life!  Speak them!  Believe them!  Put your hope in them and trust God then watch Him show up and show off for you!  God has wonderful plans for those who seek after and trust Him.

Psalm 91 NLT

Those who live in the shelter of the Most High
    will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty.
This I declare about the Lord:
He alone is my refuge, my place of safety;
    he is my God, and I trust him.
For he will rescue you from every trap
    and protect you from deadly disease.
He will cover you with his feathers.
    He will shelter you with his wings.
    His faithful promises are your armor and protection.
Do not be afraid of the terrors of the night,
    nor the arrow that flies in the day.
Do not dread the disease that stalks in darkness,
    nor the disaster that strikes at midday.
Though a thousand fall at your side,
    though ten thousand are dying around you,
    these evils will not touch you.
Just open your eyes,
    and see how the wicked are punished.

If you make the Lord your refuge,
    if you make the Most High your shelter,
10 no evil will conquer you;
    no plague will come near your home.
11 For he will order his angels
    to protect you wherever you go.
12 They will hold you up with their hands
    so you won’t even hurt your foot on a stone.
13 You will trample upon lions and cobras;
    you will crush fierce lions and serpents under your feet!

14 The Lord says, “I will rescue those who love me.
    I will protect those who trust in my name.
15 When they call on me, I will answer;
    I will be with them in trouble.
    I will rescue and honor them.
16 I will reward them with a long life
    and give them my salvation.”


Let this be our prayer for our families, our nation, and ourselves.



Humbly,

Heather

Leave a Reply

