Falling with Grace (and a baby in your arms)

I will never forget the first time I fell down while carrying my infant son.  I was walking through the apartment and tripped on something in my path. 

Now, I never took “Falling While Holding Your Baby: 101” and they never covered this subject in my birthing class.  Either I completely missed these lessons or accidentally skipped that chapter in What To Expect When You’re Expecting

Honestly, I never gave the idea of falling while holding a baby a second thought.

“Who would EVER do that?” would probably have been my reaction if someone brought it up. 

Well, turns out that the answer to that question was this girl.  This girl would fall while holding her baby.  Not just once, but three times.

So this particular day, I found myself falling and holding a tiny child. My stomach sank as I realized I couldn’t quit falling.  I felt a rush of panic. 

Oh no, my BABY!”  I thought.

Although, all I had time to say was, “OH!” 

But as I flew forward and my feet slipped away, something miraculous happened.  My body twisted and contorted with the agility and speed of a falling cat.  Before I knew it, I had fallen on my backside and Ethan was still snuggly in my arms unharmed.

I had no idea where that ability came from, but I was so relieved.  Tears slipped down my cheeks as I saw that my son was okay. 

I was reminded of this story as I slipped around in the mud yesterday carrying a rooster to his coop.  (Glamorous, I know.  Don’t be jealous.) 

I decided to share the story with you after witnessing our heifer cross in front of our house with her first calf.  



I started to panic a little bit and worry that she wouldn’t know how to take care of her little one.  But as I thought of the God-given instincts that jumped inside me and protected my baby that day I fell over thirteen years ago, I realized that she would be okay. 

I am so thankful that God is faithful.  There aren’t enough classes in the world to prepare us for all the different scenarios that we will face as parents, spouses, family, and friends.  There aren’t enough books to get us ready for how to handle each time we trip and fall.  But we have a faithful Savior. 

Trusting Him as your Savior means more than just getting to go to Heaven one day.  (That’s a precious promise to be sure, but God’s ability to be God is for today – not just the sweet bye and bye.) 

 Jesus.  Redeemer.  God saves.  Emmanuel.  God with us. 

These are all in His name and in His job description.  Put your trust in Him.  

Not just for the amazing gift of Heaven, but for His beautiful promise to never leave us and never forsake us.  God is with us. Always. 

He was there that day I fell holding Ethan. He was my Savior at that moment and granted me the grace to protect my child.

Yes, I still fell, but even when I fell He made a way to avoid hurting what really matters. 

He helped me to see that He had created me far more capable than I had previously realized ~ or even thought I needed to be! 

He will do the same for you.  Trust Him.  Call out to Him in your trouble.  Thank Him in every blessing.  

Receive His grace! His ability at work in you making up for your inability.  His strength at work in you to help you in your weakness. 

Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” 

Humbly,

Heather

2 thoughts on “Falling with Grace (and a baby in your arms)

  1. Beautifully written! Took me back about 12 years ago to falling down the stairs with my infant son. Absolutely amazing how we are given those protective instincts that we didn’t know we had, and how God intervenes. I did a football tuck that would’ve impressed NFL players, but I sure screamed all the way down. Ha!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

